Beauty · Beauty blog · Brows · Eyeshadow · Foundation · Lipstick · Makeup · Makeup review · Mascara

July Review


Every month, when I come to do this roundup, I always think I haven't bought much, then as I scroll back through my Instagram posts, I realise that this isn't true and that maybe I need some sort of professional help for my makeup hoarding.

BASE

Not much action in the 'base' department this month, The only product I have bought this month has been powder.
First up, Rimmel Instafix & Matte Powder, this is a translucent, matte finishing powder, ideal for setting foundation and concealer, it's also good for touch ups throughout the day. It has a slight scent which I'm not too fond of, but it's a decent enough product. £4.99 from Boots, and Superdrug.

ELF High Definition Undereye Setting Powder has intrigued me for some time. This silky, off white powder, comes in a tiny pot with a little brush. The brush was pretty useless, I don't know why drugstore companies bother putting brushes in with their products, they're always rubbish quality and are rarely fit for the job! Anyhow, rant over!! The actual powder was nice, silky, very lightweight, slightly Illuminating/brightening, didn't settle in lines and kept everything in place. It's infused with vitamins C and K, which is something I really love about ELF, their makeup is enriched with skincare-which is pretty amazing when you think of just how inexpensive the brand is! I didn't notice any flashback from it, but as it's a white powder, these usually have some light reflecting particles.
£4.50 from Superdrug.

HIGHLIGHTER & BLUSH

Makeup Revolution Rainbow Highlighter has been in my list to buy since it was launched, I came across it in Superdrug, in Bond Street tube station. Upon swatching, it's very similar to Unicorn Heart Highlighter from another Tam Beauty brand, I Heart Makeup. I guess the good thing about these rainbow highlighters is that you can use the individual colours or swirl them altogether.
£4 from Superdrug.

I'm not a huge fan of blusher, in fact it's very rare I wear it. However, I do like NYX Professional Makeup's Sweet Cheeks Blush Palette. It's incredibly pigmented, it gives a nice even flush of colour (nothing worse than patchy colour payoff), it's perfect for summer as it's full of corals and blossom pinks. Personally, I use it more as eyeshadow, I love these kind of shades on the eyes and they're harder to find than you think!
Available from Boots, Cult Beauty, Selfridges and ASOS, £17.

EYES

I've been on a bit of a mascara binge this month, in my quest to find a good drugstore version of Too Faced Better than Sex or Marc Jacobs Velvet Noir.
The first mascara I bought was Miss Baby Roll from L'Oreal, I got the standard black version although it comes in a few different colours. I quite like this mascara, it volumises and lengthens, I didn't find that it flaked or transferred throughout the day, it's a good all rounder! It isn't as impactful as it's premium counterparts, but then neither is its price tag.
£7.99 from Boots and Superdrug.

Next was a launch I was eagerly awaiting. Another L'Oréal mascara, Lash Paradise Extatic is supposed to be an actual dupe for the Too Faced one! I have already reviewed this in a separate blog post but suffice to say, it's still the nearest thing to a dupe that I have found.
£11.99 from Boots.

I also got Urban Decay's Perversion Mascara, I haven't tried it yet though, mainly because I have five other mascara's in the go, and once opened they don't last long, so I'm going to try and use some of them up first. I have the Total Perversion Reloaded, mascara and fine point eye pen.
£24 from Urban Decay website.

NYX Professional Makeup's Vivid Brights Liquid Liner's are a bit of a favourite of mine, I love the Sapphire shade so I decided to get the red shade called Fire. These are so unique and really eye catching, the blue liner I wear with a orange eye, the red liner I wore with very minimal neutral eye makeup, the liner is so vibrant it doesn't need too much else. I also bought the White Liquid Liner, I have used this mainly for 'dot work' around the eyes.
£6 from NYX Professional Makeup website and Boots.

I've embarked on a bit of a love affair with Yves Saint Laurent makeup, it looks so luxurious! My first eyeshadow from the brand, is Couture Mono Eyeshadow in the shade 11 Exces, a cool tone neutral brown shade, it's a good crease colour, the pigmentation is everything you'd expect of a luxury brand, smooth and even. It also comes with two little brushes in the lid (earlier rant does not apply!). As always the packaging is gorgeous!
£24 YSL website.

BROWS

Only one new brow product this month, I bought the ELF Brow Pencil in the Taupe shade, out of curiosity really. I have been very impressed with this drugstore brand so I thought I'd give their retractable Brow Pencil a go. The product has a spoolie at one end, and the pencil at the other, for its tiny price I think this is actually an alright product, the nib is a bit bigger than I would like but it's very soft, great for filling in brows. The taupe shade is similar to the equivalent Anastasia colour, a cool toned dark blonde/light brown.
£3 from Superdrug.

LIPS

The fascination with YSL stemmed from The Rouge Volupte Shine Oil in Stick Lip Colour, I got the 44 Nude shade a couple of months ago and I've been obsessed ever since! This month I bought two more shades, Coral Intuitive and Trapeze Pink, these are both perfect for summer, particularly the coral! They are enriched with six sensorial oils and are super hydrating. Then, of course, there is the stunning gold tubes encasing the product, there are just no words to describe their beauty!
£28 YSL website.

Next up, is Urban Decay Vice Liquid Lipstick in the shade Time is a gorgeous grungy metallic grey, it's very much representative of the brand. I like the formula too, it feels very comfortable on the lips, it didn't stray or bleed. Again I love the packaging of Urban Decay products, it's very edgy.
£15.50 from Urban Decay and department stores.

I was lucky enough to get six shades of the new Pin Up Pout Lipsticks from NYX Professional Makeup, I love the formula and the density of colour! My favourite is the Wisteria (Violet) shade, the dark red is also gorgeous! These are a Matte finish but are not at all drying, they have a very rich texture!
£7 each from NYX Professional Makeup's website.

Also from ELF, I got a Lip Exfoliator, it's mint flavour/coloured/scented. It's every effective and as it's shaped like a lipstick, really easy to use! It's sugar based and is infused with shea butter, vitamin E, avocado, grape and jojoba oils. All this for just £4.50! Available from Superdrug and ELF website

TOOLS

Only one new brush this month, another ELF product! I bought the Setting Brush, it's a good size, tapered brush, it's not too fluffy or dense, works perfectly with Setting Powder.
£4.50 Superdrug and ELF website.

I've been trying to remember to use Lash curlers if I'm not wearing falsies, and have been using Primark rose gold ones, which I thought were fine. That was until I got NYX Professional Makeup Eyelash Curlers, and realised that my rose gold ones (bought primarily for their colour!), were sadly lacking. My new ones are firmer and so they hold the lashes better and give them a much more defined curl.
£5.50 from Boots and NYX Professional Makeup

I found this Palette and Mixing Spatula in Primark, it was just £2! The palette is so useful!!

SKINCARE

Lots of new skincare this month, I am still in the middle of my 7 days 7 face masks' challenge, (also known as the longest week ever!) where I have been trying out various facemasks.
I've also been trying out lots of products from The Ordinary, I'm going to do a separate post about these as there is quite a lot to get through.

I've finished the Yes To Coconut's Face Wipes, I really enjoyed these and will repurchase, although I might try the tomato ones.
£3.99 from Superdrug and Boots.

I'm about half way through the Garnier Skinactive Micellar Oil Infused Cleansing Wipes, I'm not over keen on these, they really are very oily, and leave a residue on the skin. Also they're quite heavily scented, which I'm also not fond of. I won't be repurchasing these.
£3.26 from Boots and Superdrug.

Hope you enjoyed this months review, looking forward to autumn and all those lovely new releases!!!
Thanks for reading, Mo x

2 thoughts on “July Review

Leave a Reply

