Beauty · Beauty blog · Eyeshadow · Foundation · Lipstick · Makeup · Makeup blogger · Makeup haul · Makeup review

 Summer Must Haves! 


Being as the British weather is being kind and we are actually enjoying ‘proper’ summer weather, I thought I’d list my favourite summer 2017 products. So grab your sunnies, pour yourself a cocktail, and take a seat on your sun lounger, although probably the sound of next doors lawnmower will be replacing the sea!!!

For me, summer is all about glowing skin, I favour a golden glow, so my first product is the fabulous EX1 Invisiwear Liquid Foundation, I have blogged about it before but I seriously cannot get enough of this golden hued foundation. It gives such a healthy glow as it looks like you’ve been just slightly kissed by the sun!


I have been trying out various Primers to help keep Foundation in place in the heat, I have found The Ordinary’s High Adherence Silicone Primer works really well, not just as the first makeup step, but also as the last step of skincare. ELF Aqua Primer Mist is also a good choice as it’s very refreshing and contains vitamins B and E plus cucumber. A luxurious choice is YSL Touché Eclat Blur Primer, it feels gorgeous on the skin and has those golden flecks.



Next up is a product I am obsessed with, Marc Jacobs Dew Drops Coconut Gel Highlighter is possibly the most stunning liquid highlighter ever! Just one pump delivers enough golden gorgeousness to highlight cheek bones, Brow bone, and any other areas you want illuminate. I apply mine with a damp sponge and it works a treat. As it contains coconut, just the aroma alone transports you to a tropical island!


My go to Bronzer has always been a little known product from Michael Kors, however I believe it’s been discontinued which is really annoying as it was perfect. So I have been using Marc Jacobs Omega Bronze, I do find it’s a little deeper in shade, and also it’s Matte whereas my Michael Kors one has a very slight shimmer. A more purse friendly Matte Bronzer is from NYX Professional Makeup, I use the medium shade, it’s great for warming up a contour!


Concealer is always my ride or die Tarte Shape Tape, I’m not sure anything will ever top this amazing product. Gives fantastic coverage and feels kind of refreshing when applied under the eyes.


Obviously for makeup in the heat, you don’t want to much Powder, So to set my concealer and foundation I’ve been loving Makeup Forever’s Super Matte Loose Powder.  As I’ve been using liquid highlighter I’ve tried not to be quite so excessive with powder products, which is quite challenging for me as I LOVE powder, I find a light dusting of this works really well and doesn’t kill the  glow.


I have been using Urban Decays Naked Heat Palette a lot, it contains all those lovely coppers, rusts, reds and browns that I absolutely adore! I have used NYX Professional Makeup’s Vivid Brights Liner in the Sapphire shade with the blue mascara, to give this Copper smokey eye a bit more of an edge. I did this look then saw that Patrick Starr had a very similar tutorial on his channel!! I just think summer is a time to play with colour and be more adventurous! It’s worth mentioning that NYX Professional Makeup’s Warm Neutrals Palette is a bit of a dupe for the UD Heat Palette,  at just £16, it’s an absolute bargain!

It is very effective to layer powder highlighter over a liquid one, MAC Cosmetics Double Gleam Extra Dimension Skinfinish compliments the Marc Jacobs Dew Drops perfectly. Jouer’s Citrine also works beautifully.


For summer lips, I have been using YSL Rouge Volupte Shine Oil in Stick, this is a super moisturising lip product, it gives a fairly sheer colour with a shine finish, made with 65% oils they are incredibly hydrating. They have a fruity fragrance, always nice in the summer! And the awesome packaging is handbag worthy, I like to keep my prettiest products in my bag, it’s nice to show them off!


Lastly, no summer makeup would be complete without Setting Spray, this stuff really helps to keep everything in place and looking pristine. My absolute favourite is NYX Professional Makeup’s Matte Setting Spray although they masked a dewy version too. These are also very refreshing to just spritz on throughout the day. I love the Marc Jacobs Coconut Setting Spray too, it’s another product which has that beautiful tropical coconut fragrance, however I find I can’t use this more than once a day as it makes my skin feel a little sticky/tacky to the touch, which is a shame. I’m still keeping it on my ‘must haves’ list though, purely because the aroma lifts you to a far off place, and that is priceless!


Summer fragrances are not generally my thing, I really love Michael Kors’ Coral though, partly because coral is my favourite colour (it’s my happy place), and because it smells like holiday to me.


Thanks for reading, Mo x

Leave a Reply

