Makeup

May Review


It’s so funny how every month, when I do this review, I think ‘Oh I haven’t bought very much this month’, then I look over my instagram and realise the extent of the makeup addiction! This month I feel like a lot of my purchases have been drugstore/bargain beauty products, many of which I have already reviewed in previous blog posts in the last few weeks. So I will be focusing on the items I have not yet reviewed. 

BASE

I have tried four new foundations this month, which is a bit excessive even for me! First up, a foundation I have wanted to try for a while, Milani Conceal and Perfect is a bit of a YouTuber favourite, it’s another brand which isn’t readily available in the UK, so the only option is to buy on the internet. The issue is always choosing a shade, especially if you are not very familiar with the brand. I had heard that Milani foundation is not great for anyone with a fair skin tone, so I figured my NC20 skin might struggle. However I ended up buying shade 03 Light Beige, as I fake tan in the summer and most of my foundations end up being far too  light, I checked Beauty Bays website, it says Light Beige is for light skin with neutral undertones. Perfect and Conceal is a 2 in 1 Foundation and Concealer, it’s Matte, full coverage and has good longevity. It stayed on all day when I wore it, it didn’t break up on my oily nose like many foundations do, I will say that it does feel quite dense, it’s not a lightweight foundation but that’s the price you pay for very full coverage, and as you know I love full coverage! I think at £13 for 30ml it’s a bargain, 14 shades available from Beauty B and Beauty Bay websites. 


EX1 Invisiwear Foundation is another product with a cult following, its loved by makeup artists and celebrities alike and I can totally understand why. Apparently Adele wore it when she collected her BRIT awards! The foundation comes in 12 shades, all of which are golden toned, golden not orange! I have shade 3.0 and it is beautiful, it really is a fabulous golden hued foundation, it reminds me of that gorgeous JLo glow that always seems impossible to achieve! I absolutely love it, out of all the things I bought at the IMATS, this is the product I’ve used most! I was lucky enough to receive a set of EX1 products, which I will do a separate post about. EX1 Invisiwear Foundation is an absolute steal at £12.50 for 30ml, available from Guru Makeup Emporium website. 


Next is a Primer I’ve wanted to try for a long time, Touché Eclat Blur Primer from Yves Saint Laurent. Mostly because it has golden glittery particles in it, it’s one of those products that just radiates luxury! When you apply it to your skin it feels beautiful, it’s very silky, those golden particles help to Illuminate the skin. It made my skin feel very smooth and it looked even.  I was given a sample of the Touché Eclat Foundation to try as I wasn’t sure how it would sit on my skin, upon application it looked amazing on top of the Primer,  as the day went on though, I felt that they would probably perform much better on normal/dry skin types, my oily nose literally went into overdrive and I was dealing with a full on oil slick! The Primer works well on my non-oily areas but sadly I think the foundation is not for me. Touché Eclat Blur Primer is £29.50 from most departing stores. 


Urban Decay One & Done Hybrid Complexion Perfector is a repurchase, I originally bought it last year when it first launched and I wasn’t over impressed with it as a foundation. For me, this product works great as a tinted Primer, it makes my skin feel very soft and look even, it’s not greasy and it’s very lightweight. It’s also packed full of nourishing ingredients including Peptides and Vitamins. On the packaging, it says that One & Done will immediately improve the look of skin tone for up to 8 hours, gives significant improvement in radiance after 12 weeks, significantly firmer feeling skin after 12 weeks, and visibly smaller looking pores after 8 weeks. If you are like me and struggle to find a primer that works on oily/combination skin, then give it a go. I do of course realise that this product wasn’t really designed to be a primer, but for me, it doesn’t have the coverage that I like from a foundation but I do love how it feels and looks in my skin. One & Done is available from their website and most department stores, £28 for 40ml, 6 shades. 

Other base products, Nip+Fab foundation, ELF Primer and Foundation have been reviewed in previous posts. 

Tarte Shape Tape Concealer is my absolute ride or die, if you haven’t tried it-do! I bought a different shade this time, I got a slightly lighter shade as usually it’s sold out! Available from the Tarte website, they ship worldwide, do taxes at point of purchase, often do discounts or free shipping so I recommend signing up to their mailing list! £19 but I think it works out at about £24 with tax. 


HIGHLIGHTER 

Oddly enough, it’s been a dry month for highlighters, they are my favourite product but I haven’t felt that inspired with this months new launches. I did buy the Laura Gellar 20th Anniversary Edition Baked Gelato Swirl Illuminator in the shade Diamond Dust though. It’s a highlighter which appeals to my inner unicorn, it has a colour ‘flash’, it’s a holographic Illuminator and it’s so incredibly pretty! Be warned, if you’ve not bought a Laura Gellar Illuminator before, they are a bit on the small side, 4.5g of product for £21, available from Debenhams, Beauty Bay and Cult Beauty. 


I really like Makeup Revolution Highlighters and Strobe Powders, I’ve been a bit slow to catch on to their latest offering, the Skin Kiss Highlighters. They were literally all over Instagram when they first launched, I would usually have got them straight away but I have a really large collection of highlighters and these looked like other ones I already have. I was in my local Superdrug, and although I didn’t think they stocked this particular collection there was a few random Skin Kiss Highlighters, just sitting on the shelf. I bought the shade Ice Kiss, it is quite similar to some of my other highlighters so I’m not hugely blown away by it. I will say though, that the product itself is huge, 14g for just £5! Available from Superdrug and Tam Beauty website. 

There was a fair bit of highlighter in my Primark Mermaid Collection haul, reviewed in a separate post. 
EYES

I bought the first Urban Decay Naked Palette, mostly because it’s one of those Palettes that everyone seems to own, it’s almost a rite of passage! I haven’t used it yet, it’s still pristine in its box, I will review it in a separate post. 


Violet Voss x Laura Lee Palette has been my latest obsession! I’m so pleased I have it, I honestly think if I hadn’t bought it, I would have been haunted by it forever! It has everything you need all in one place, base, crease, transition, pop shade and highlight! Such a good product and my first ever Violet Voss purchase (though probably not my last!). I purchased mine from Beauty B, £42.95 they still have them in stock. 

NYX Perfect Filter Palette in the shade Rustic Antique is my other favourite palette of the month! This palette comes in 5 different colour options! The shades in mine are all very warm toned rusts, oranges and neutrals. It’s very pigmented and blends beautifully! Available from the NYX UK website, £16. 


LIPS

This is another product which I kept coming across on YouTube, Yves Saint Laurent Oil in Stick Lipstick, Ready To Care and Shine Lip Colour. I have the shade Nude, it’s quite a sheer wash of colour, and has a pink tone to it. It makes lips feel incredibly soft, I get quite sore lips and I’ve been using this almost every day, it feels lovely! I also adore the packaging!!! Although the shade I have is sheer, some shades have an intense depth of colour. It’s more on the expensive side at £27, available from department stores and the YSL website. 


SKINCARE

I was fortunate enough to receive Kiehls Midnight Recovery Botanical Cleansing Oil to try last month, I absolutely loved it, so I bought two more of these products, the Midnight Recovery Eye and Concerntrate. Oh my! I’m not usually into skincare, but these products are so wonderful, packed full of Essential oils and Botanicals. They smell incredible, Lavender is something that you really notice, but it’s not just that, there’s something very calming and warm about the fragrance. I think that whilst many products contain oils, it’s the grade and quality of the oil that are important, the Kiehls’ products are amazing, I think this could be my next obsession! Midnight Recovery Botanical Cleansing Oil is £32 for 175ml, Midnight Recovery Concentrate is £38 for 30ml and Midnight Recovery Eye is £26 for 15ml. 


Finally, I purchased some skincare products from The Ordinary, this is such a cool brand, inexpensive, effective products, minimalist packaging, their ethos is ‘Clinical Formulations with Integrity’, which I feel kind of sums them up perfectly. I will review these on separately because I feel there’s a lot to say about these awesome products. Again, I feel this brand could become a bit of an obsession too!!


So concludes this month roundup, please check out my Primark and IMATS haul blogs too for other products I’ve bought this month! 

Thanks for reading, Mo x

One thought on “May Review

Leave a Reply

