Makeup

Nip + Fab Makeup, first impressions 


It’s always exciting when a new makeup brand is launched, although Nip+Fab have been around for a while, they have only made skincare products until now. As I’m a bit of a skincare sceptic, it’s a brand I’m not too familiar with, I did buy one of their bee sting products some time ago, it was ok but didn’t blow me away so it has been consigned to the bathroom cabinet! As a makeup enthusiast, I needed to try their cosmetic line.

FOUNDATION 

I ordered the foundation online as they sent me a discount code, and it was free postage (you know how I hate postage costs!). I ordered shade 05, there are 10 shades to chose from plus 2 foundation mixers, one to lighten and one to darken, so you can custom blend your perfect shade.


So on to the product itself. The bottle is a soft plastic so you can squeeze the product out, the shape is similar to MAC’s Studio Face and Body Foundation. It looks really small but there is 30ml of product, so the same as most brands. I applied it with my Morphe G6 brush, which worked really well. The foundation doesn’t really have any fragrance, which is fine as I’m not fond of heavily scented face products. It applied evenly, felt pleasant on the skin, no heaviness or stickiness, I would say it has medium coverage and a very natural finish, on the website it says it gives a Matte finish, but I didn’t find it to be particularly Matte or dewy, and it isn’t Oil free, Mineral Oil is listed on the ingredients. It also says on the website that it gives a soft focus effect and blurs imperfections, I would agree with this, it gave me a nice healthy looking complexion. It lasted fairly well, it didn’t break up or oxidise. I think it would make a decent ‘everyday’ foundation.

However, at £12.95 it’s on the more expensive side of the drugstore foundations, and there is not a great range of shades, as they make the foundation mixers so you can make the perfect shade. The mixers are also £12.95, so if you buy both foundation and mixer it will cost you almost £26, which is the same as buying MAC or Urban Decay.

LIP LINER

I bought the shade 02 Fudge, it costs £5.95, and at the time Superdrug had a promotion where if you spent £12 on Nip+Fab, you got a little makeupbag containing 3 full size products. This shade was also in the bag, so I have two of them! It’s a retractable lip liner, which I prefer as I can never find a sharpener! The shade is a nude tone, it applied well, it isn’t the softest lip liner I’ve ever used, but it’s not the hardest either. It comes in 5 shades at the moment. It also has a little nib sharpening/shaping device to help keep a nice point!


MATTE LIQUID LIPSTICK 

This was one of products in the promotional bag from Superdrug. The shade is Marshmallow, and it’s a nude tone, there are 10 shades in total, and they are all variations of nudes. They cost £7.95 for 2.6ml.


I have tried it out for a couple of days, and although it does dry down matte, it always feels kind of tacky, like it never fully dries. I also did the ‘Kiss test’ on the back of my hand, and it always leaves a trace of product. I will say though, that it wasn’t drying on the lips, it contains Shea Butter and Coconut Oil, which might also explain why it doesn’t dry down fully.

I liked the Matte Liquid Lipstick, it felt nice, it didn’t go crumbly on my lips and the shade is a good nude, not too peach or pink!


MASCARA


The last of the 3 free products was Mascara. It costs £9.95 and only comes in black. I quite like the mascara, it did give some length and volume to my pale, spindly lashes. I like a lot of mascara, I like ‘va va voom’ lashes, so I tend to buy high-end mascara, as I have yet to find a drugstore alternative. It gave a dense, jet black coat of colour, but I did find it clumped a bit if I tried to layer it too much, having said that, I think this one pretty good, I was quite pleased with the effect it gave, and my lashes didn’t feel too stiff or spiky.


EYEBROW PENCIL

Finally, the Eyebrow pencil in the shade Ash Blonde, was the last of my purchases. I think it only comes in 3 shades, Ash Blonde, Ash Brown and Brown. Hence I bought Ash blonde as in Anastasia and NYX I use the Taupe shade, which is in between blonde and brown, but still cool toned. The pencil is of the automatic/retractable variety, with a spoolie on the other end.


The actual product was alright, it was easy to apply, not too waxy and has a similar shaped nib to the Anastasia Brow Definer, the Nip+Fab one is just a bit thicker and so not quite so precise. My main issue, is the lack of choice with the shades, three is really not enough! Ash Blonde is too light and Ash Brown was a little too dark for me.


To summarise, I think if you are already a die-hard Nip+Fab fan you will probably love this collection! I like the minimalist packaging. I certainly want to try out the Eyeshadow palette as it looks like a good daytime collection of shades, and the Blushers look nice too! I think that the brand offers good ‘basic’ makeup, I don’t mean that offensively, I think that for everyday wear, they have some good products with good performance! Its just not ‘wow’ makeup.

Thanks for reading! Mo x

One thought on “Nip + Fab Makeup, first impressions 

Leave a Reply

