Makeup

Marc Jacobs Perfecting Coconut Setting Mist & Dew You Dew Drops, First Impressions


Well that was the longest title ever! 

Firstly, let me start by telling you that I love Marc Jacobs! If I could afford it, I would have everything that he makes, as it is, I have a fair bit of his makeup and a handbag (which I have used everyday since I got it!). So when I saw this new collection, I was overjoyed! The only thing was, I immediately realised it was going to be a mission to get hold of it, in the UK only Harrods have stocked it so far, and even then, they said it was in store only. Now although I live in London, I don’t very often venture up to the west-end, let alone Knightsbridge, and as there’s no guarantee they’ll even have it when you get there, I have been checking their website frequently to see if it magically appeared on there. 


It did. I checked on Sunday morning, and there it all was, Setting spray, Dew Drops, O Mega Bronzer and the brush! I ordered everything except the brush, as it was pretty expensive. I was super excited to try the Bronzer, my favourite Michael Kors one is running out, and it looked like the shade of the Marc Jacobs Bronzer would be good for fairer skin tones. However, on Monday, they sent an email saying it was out of stock, I wouldn’t mind but assuming they get more stock, each order costs £5.95 in postage and packaging! I’m just ranting, but I am irritated, the ridiculous postage alone annoys me! 

On to the products! I love the packaging, it’s so sleek and elegant, the boxes are black and white, quite minimalist. Inside, the Dew Drops are in the same bottle as the Coconut Primer and Remarcable foundation, I love how heavy the frosted glass bottles are, so luxurious! The drops are dispensed via a silver pump, and really, unless you are planning to cover yourself in gold, one pump is enough for cheekbones and the high points of the face. It really does look like liquid gold, and it smells devine! These products all contain coconut, so they smell like tropical holidays! The first time I applied it, I put it on before my foundation, but on top of the Undercover Coconut Primer, the Gel Highlighter does dry down, and it looks amazing, but I used Marc Jacobs Remarcable Foundation on top, and as this is full coverage, it kind of made the highlighter disappear. So next time, I used the drops on top of the foundation, this worked much better, but I always have the same problem with liquid highlighters, I use a fair bit of powder to set everything as I have oily/combo skin, which covers the highlighter, and if I apply the highlighter after the powder it all starts to separate. The only way around it is to use minimal powder and only to set concealer, then use the Dew Drops, I applied them with a damp beauty blender, which worked well. I have also applied the Gel by ‘tapping’ it on with my finger, this was also effective. The Dew Drops Gel Highlighter dries down, so it doesn’t need powdering to set it. 



The Recover Perfecting Coconut Setting Mist, has the same beautiful fragrance as the other products, and comes in a white frosted plastic bottle. I used it after I had applied all the rest of my makeup, it has a really fine Mist, it’s not like other Setting sprays where you have to apply it from a distance as the force of the spray is quite strong! In fact, the first time I used it, I held too far from my face and it didn’t touch me, it only needs to be about 6 inches away, and then the incredibly fine micro mist lightly veils your face, it feels so refreshing, I find myself using it throughout the day, I close my eyes and enjoy the glorious fragrance!!! 

I think it gives a slightly dewy finish, it’s not excessive, and used with the Dew Drops Coconut Gel Highlighter it gives a beautiful summer/holiday look to your makeup! As it’s enriched with coconut water, it also helps to take care of your skin too, as does the Primer. 


Now the deets, both products are currently only available from Harrods, I emailed John Lewis as they also stock Marc Jacobs beauty, but at the time of writing this blog post they were still checking with their merchandising department, so fingers crossed! The Re(cover) Perfecting Coconut Setting Mist is £25 for 112ml, So Dew You Dew Drops Coconut Gel Highlighter is £32 for 24ml. 

I give both of  these products ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️, I love them! 

Thanks for reading, Mo x

3 thoughts on “Marc Jacobs Perfecting Coconut Setting Mist & Dew You Dew Drops, First Impressions

    1. Hi Chloe, they told me they would not be stocking them online, however I spoke to an assistant on the actual Marc Jacobs counter, who informed me they would be stocking the Setting spray and Dew Drops Highlighter, but not the Bronzer and brush. Xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

