Makeup

March Review


I cannot believe its April already, and Easter is almost upon us! April seems to be the month for new launches in the UK, so March is a bit of a ‘dry’ month on the makeup front. A lot of my purchases this month have been things which have been around a while but that I hadn’t got around to buying (if you know what I mean!).

BASE

My only base product this month was the Kat Von D Lock It Concealer, I really like this concealer-it is FULL coverage! I’m not sure it will completely replace Tarte’s Shape Tape, as I prefer the consistency and it also gives excellent coverage, but I will certainly be alternating them! I have done a first impressions of the KVD Concealer, a couple weeks ago on this blog, if you fancy checking it out! Comes in 21 shades, available from Debenhams website. 


HIGHLIGHTER 

As per usual, lots of highlighter action this month! First up, the gorgeous Becca Prismatic Amethyst Shimmering Skin Perfector. Oh my glow, this is such a beautiful product, everything about it is stunning! It gives a gorgeous Unicorn glow, after all, it is a Prismatic highlighter! And can we just talk about the packaging, holographic box, and the pretty lilac and silver compact, all stunning!! £32 from Cult Beauty website. 


I have wanted an Anastasia Beverly Hills Glow Kit since they first launched, and in particular Moonchild. I’ve heard so many good reviews about it, but I wasn’t sure I’d get that much use out of it as it’s not a regular highlighter palette. In the last few months, I have become more adventurous with my makeup,    and I love all the new holographic products on the market, so I have been incorporating all these beautiful new highlighters into my daily makeup routine. Now I’m not saying they’re everyone’s cup of tea, there’s no denying how pretty they look but they’re not for the faint hearted! Moonchild is everything I hoped it to be, stunning shades, fantastic glow, pigmented, creamy and glides on effortlessly. And yes, I wear them on the school run!!! Moonchild is £39 on Anastasia Beverly HillS UK website. 


NYX Cosmetics have opened their first UK Boutique in Stratford Westfield, so I paid a little visit and got a few things. To be honest, I was so overwhelmed I didn’t get everything I went for, picture the scene from the original Charlie and the Chocolate Factory film, where they see the chocolate waterfall and Gene Wilder sings the ‘World of Pure Imagination’ song, that’s how I felt! I did manage to get two of the new Duo Chrome Highlighters, I got the shades Twilight Tint and Snow Rose, these are both stunning, they have a colour ‘shift’, that for some reason is quite difficult to photograph. Again they’re very smooth and pigmented, and yes, I am fully embracing my inner unicorn!! I also got one of the new Bright Idea Illuminating Sticks in the shade Lavender Lust, I’m not a huge fan of cream Highlighters, but I’ve seen people rave about this on YouTube so I thought I’d give it a whirl. The shade is very pretty, I’ve used it under my foundation, to give a background glow, which worked really well, and I’ve also applied it on top of my foundation using a sponge. I find if I use any stick Highlighters over foundation, applying them directly from the stick just lifts off my foundation, so using a sponge to apply it seems to work better, well, it does for me anyway, obviously you do what works for you! Duo Chromes are available in 5 shades £9 each, Illuminating Sticks available in 10 shades £7.50 each. 


My first ever Essence product came in the shape of their Strobing Highlighter. This is one of those powders which gives the skin a sheen, like the Hourglass powders, its more of a subtle, healthy glow. It’s well worth its tiny price tag!! £3 from Wilkinson’s. 


Lastly, are the Love Lights Highlighters from Too Faced, again I’ve dedicated a whole blog post to these previously. $25 each from Too Faced. 

EYES

I’m absolutely obsessed with the Stila Magnificent Metals Glitter and Glow Liquid Eyeshadows and I bought another shade, Diamond Dust. Again I have done a blog post about these already, needless to say, I can’t wait for the holographic ones to launch in the UK! £23 each from Stila. 

I love the Prismatic Eyeshadows from NYX, I got one of the new shades, Glass Slipper, when I visited  Stratford. This is a beautiful shade, it could easily be used as a highlighter, I have used it in the inner corner of my eyes, again, it’s another product which has a colour shift and is really impactful. Available in 24 shades, £5.50 each. 


Another NYX purchase, was The Vivid Brights Liquid Eyeliner, in the shade Petal. This is a very pretty pastel pink, great for springtime! I did find that the brush applicator is quite soft, but think that’s because I use the felt tip pen style eyeliners which need a bit more pressure, the Vivid Brights require a delicate touch to apply them, otherwise you’ll end up with a fairly thick line!  Available in 8 shades, £5.50 each. 


Last of the eye products, Rimmel Volume Shake Mascara, I did a first impressions blog about this new mascara, but after using it for about a week it was retired to the makeup drawer, and I was back with my ride or die, Too Faced’s Bettter than Sex. I just didn’t feel the Rimmel one had enough impact, even when I put multiple layers on, it didn’t have the oomph of either of my two favourites, BTS or Marc Jacobs Velvet Noir. The quest to find a decent drugstore mascara continues! Available from all good stockists, £6.99. 

BROWS

If you follow my insta, you’ll know my holy grail product is NYX Micro Brow Pencil, and you’ll also know I go through these pencils like water! So I have been trying to find products that I can use alongside the  Microbrow that might make it last longer. 

Charlotte Tilbury’s Legendary Brow Gel, helps to enhance every single hair, it has the tiniest of brushes, so it’s easy to use as it’s so precise. I have the shade Brigitte, which works great with my Taupe shade Microbrow Pencil. Available from all stockists, 4 shades £18.50 each. 


My other new brow product is the NYX Brow Gel in the Brunette shade. I have used this on its own, as you can define, shape and fill brows with this Gel. It’s also waterproof, so it’s great for nights out, the gym, holidays etc. Available in 5 shades £6 each. 


PIGMENTS & POWDERS

I bought another NYX Pigment this month, in the shade Diamond. This is a beautiful glittery Pigment, it has a kind of green colour shift to it!

Makeup Forever Star Powder in the shade 946 I got from Debenhams in Lakeside , I have used this as a highlighter and as a Eyeshadow. It’s a gorgeous champagne/gold Shimmering powder, I want to get more of these, and the Liquid version too!  Star Powder is £13 from Debenhams and comes in 9 shades. NYX Pigments are £5.50 each and come in 24 shades. 


LIPS

On my visit to the new NYX Boutique, I got two of the new shades of the Lip Lingeries. I love the original ones, and the new shades all look gorgeous! I got Seduction, which is a deep rusty colour, and Scandalous, a dark greige shade. Available from NYX and all stockists, £7 each 24 shades. 



It seems like pretty much every brand is releasing a Lip Kit at the moment, and also hopping on this band wagon is Barry M. I got a lovely nude shade called Go To, the liner is fairly soft and well pigmented, the Matte liquid lipstick is also decent quality and dries evenly. I believe there are 3 shades in the Lip kits, £6.99 from Boots and Superdrug. 

SKINCARE

I’m not really one for skincare, but I do like a cleanser, after all, removing your makeup is one of the most important things you can do for your face. So I thought I’d try out this NYX Cleansing Oil, particularly as I wear a lot of waterproof makeup, which can be quite challenging to remove. I can honestly say, this Oil removed layers of mascara that I didn’t even realise we’re still there, in fact, I’d forgotten that my eyelashes are actually blonde! This is an awesome product!!! 

Available from the NYX Boutique £6.


So concludes this month review, thanks for reading, Mo x

One thought on “March Review

Leave a Reply

