Makeup

Rimmel Volume Shake Mascara-First Impressions 


I haven’t bought a drugstore mascara for a long time, and that was Rimmel’s Lash Accelerator Mascara. I really loved it for quite a while, Jaclyn Hill had been using it in some of her tutorials, and so I thought it must be good!!! I was never fond of the brush though, for me the spoolie inside is more important than the product, and although it’s a good mascara, I could never get used to the spiky brush. The brush is a real ‘make or break’ issue for me!!

So from there, I hit the high-end market of mascara! I’ve had Bad Gal from Benefit (brush far too big), Clinique High Impact (brush ok, but didn’t notice any impact!), MAC False Lashes Extreme (brush nice, product nice but not amazing), Too Faced Better than Sex (good brush, great mascara, but sometimes sheds on my cheeks and eyelids), and finally, Marc Jacobs Velvet Noir (love this one, but it’s expensive!).

So when I saw a new Rimmel mascara, with a decent looking brush, and a new mechanism inside to prevent clumping, I knew I had to give it a go, particularly as my Marc Jacobs one is pretty much gone! 

Firstly I like the actually packaging, the tube is very substantial and weighty due to the whatever’s inside, I’m guessing it’s a ball bearing type of thing, which you can feel moving about when you shake the tube. This shaking action helps to prevent the product clumping and also refreshes it, I suppose if it’s being stirred about it keeps the mascara from setting and thickening in the tube. The brush is just a very regular type of mascara wand, it’s not too big, has the traditional ‘bristles’ and give a good covering from root to tip. Some mascara’s really irritate my eyes but I haven’t experienced any issues with it. Obviously it can be layered and built up for a really impactful look, it is volumising. 

I really like this Mascara, I’m not sure it will replace my beloved Marc Jacobs Velvet Noir, but I shall certainly be using alongside it!!! 

Rimmel Volume Shake Mascara is available from Boots and Superdrug,  Rimmel is usually on promotion, I got mine in Superdrug for £6.99.

Thanks for reading! Mo x

Leave a Reply

