Makeup

October Review

Ah autumn, my favourite time of year, the leaves are changing colour and winter is on its way (my least favourite time of year, hate the cold!). We also change our shades at this time of year, who doesn’t love a berry lip or a cranberry smokey eye!

So this is my October roundup, I feel like I’ve bought more this month than last, but I haven’t, weird!


Base

So first up are some amazing Charlotte Tilbury products, the Goddess Skin Clay Mask feels fantastic on the skin, it’s packed full of fabulous ingredients to leave your face like baby skin! Another thing about this mask is it doesn’t dry like other face masks, I hate that horrible cracking sensation! Put it on your Christmas lists, in fact, put the Magic Cream on there too, because that’s another awesome product! I really love the Magic Cream, it’s made a real difference to my skin, and in particular my little ‘wrinkly crinkly’ areas, I have a horizontal frown line in between my eyes that most people think is a scar, it’s really improved, and I think my skin tone has improved too! I was lucky enough to also get Charlotte Tilburys Wonder Glow, this can be used under or over Foundation, or on its own. It gives a beautiful luminosity to skin, I have been using it with the Magic Foundation and have had so many comments on my skin.


Contour and Highlight

The Kat Von D Shade + Light Palette was part of my Sephora haul, I decided to get the refillable version as I find I tend to use some shades a lot more than others. I also like that this palette is a hard black plastic as opposed to the cardboard ones, it feels so much more robust. The contour shades are great, particularly if like me, you find a lot of contour Powders are much to intense for your skin tone, these all work fine on my NC20 skin. The highlight shades are also lovely, a really like Lyric and Lucid (the banana and peachy toned ones). The Powders are beautiful and finely milled.


Another Sephora purchase was the Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in the Rose Gold shade. The compact itself is gorgeous! And the highlighter is everything we’ve come to expect from the company that brought us Champagne Pop, it’s just beautiful!!! Another for the Christmas list!

I also got a couple of drugstore highlighters, the little L’Oreal one I found in Superdrug (I think it may be exclusive to them), this was purchased purely as I had seen it on some of my favourite instagram feeds. It has quite an unusual texture, it’s sort of cream/balm textured to begin with but then has a powder finish. The other highlighter is from MUA, and is part of their Luxe collection,  it’s a gold powder, but it’s the container itself which is unique, you twist the tub, and it grinds the powder off so it’s becomes a loose powder but without the mess! It’s very pretty and can be used for face or body. I think MUA are a really inventive brand, considering they are a fairly low price point they are making some fab products, check out their Cushion Highlighter too, it’s amazing!

Eyes

Oh my, where do I begin?! There was lots of new Palettes out this month, so much temptation! The Anastasia And Mario Dedivanovic collaboration was the main reason for the Sephora order, but I also wanted the Metal Matte Palette from Kat Von D, this is an incredible palette, and it’s huge!! I must confess that I haven’t used it yet though, so I will do a separate review for it. 


I ordered the Huda Beauty Palette from Cult Beauty, the Rose Gold Edition is an amazing palette, and again, it’s very unique in texture and shade. I’m very drawn to these cranberry and rose gold shades! I will review this separately as it needs more than a paragraph! 

The Marc Jacobs products were all in a Powder Beauty Box, and I haven’t tried them out yet! So much makeup, so little time!!


Lips

Kat Von D’s Studded Lipstick in shade Lolita 11, again part of my Sephora order, I have the original Lolita, and I absolutely adore it, this is a more terracotta toned lipstick, it reminds me of MACs Velvet Teddy. The gunmetal, Studded tube is fabulous, it feels really sturdy and is very rock chick! 

Anastasia Liquid Lipstick in shade Alison I kept seeing all over insta, so it’s a real ‘insta made me buy it’ purchase! This is a beautiful berry shade, perfect for this time of year, and very hard wearing, I ate and drank with it, and it was still on!!!


Marc Jacobs Enamored Lip Gloss in shade Pink Flamingo, very pretty pink, and a real nice gloss to boot. I’m not massively into glosses, but I shall be buying more of these.


Tools

I have loved this Morphe M444 brush since I got it, it’s replaced the M439, which was my previous obsession! It gives a lovely finish to foundation and I highly recommend it!! 


These sponges were all from Primark. My general rule for sponge testing is ‘how squishy is it when it’s dry’, the dense ones are never that great. The black sponge is pretty dense, but I really only bought it for the ring it sits in. The mini green sponges are really good though, they are very squishy and well worth a purchase!!


Nails

So I’ve been wearing the Marc Jacobs nail polish in shade Blacquer, since I got it! I love black nails, and this is super glossy and hard wearing!

Holiday Collection 

I always look at these holiday collections and wonder if I should get any of them? So this year, I got the Too Faced Grand Hotel Cafe, i think I really got it because it’s so damn cute!! I will do a full review separately. 


Prices and Places

Charlotte Tilbury Goddess Clay Mask, £45, Magic Cream £70 for 50ml and Wonder Glow £38.50 from their website, John Lewis and House of Fraser 

Kat Von D Metal Matte Palette £50 and is available at Debenhams, the refillable Shade+Light Palette $49 and Lolita 11 Lipstick $21 I got from Sephora website. 

Anastasia Master Palette by Mario $45 was also from Sephora, but is currently sold out.

Too Faced Grand Hotel Cafe £46 available from Debenhams website.

Becca Rose Gold Shimmering Skin Perfector $38 Sephora or £32 Cult Beauty website (in regular packaging though)

Anastasia Liquid Lipstick in shade Alison $20 Sephora

MUA Luxe Highlighter available at Superdrug £5

L’Oreal Highlighter available at Superdrug currently £4.99 as it’s on offer, normally £6.99

Morphe M444 brush from Cult Beauty £12.00

Huda Beauty Rose Gold Edition Palette £56.00 Cult Beauty

Sponges, mini green sponges 4pack £1.50 and black sponge in ring holder £2.50 Primark

Marc Jacobs products were in a Powder Beauty Box, however they are all available separately from Harrods and John Lewis website

Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoyed this months review. Please subscribe! 

 

Leave a Reply

