Uncategorized

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Edit-Surreal Light

When I first saw this beauty, I knew I’d end up buying it. I have last years version, and although I don’t use it too often, it has some beautiful powders! 


This years edit is contains five shades, a finishing powder Surreal Light, a bronzer Surreal Bronze Light, two blushers Surreal Glow and Surreal Effect, and a highlight shade Surreal Strobe Light. All this is encased in white marble effect packaging, and boxed in their ‘old gold’ packaging. 

Inside there are also guide lines for how to use the palette, I think this is a great idea, as sometimes you get palettes that look beautiful, but are a little overwhelming and even intimidating to use. 

Now on to the product. The largest pan is the Finishing Powder, a peachy hued satiny powder, for me this gives a similar effect to Chanel’s Les Beiges Healthy Glow powder, it brightens the skin to give more radiance. 


Next the bronzer, it’s a very subtle bronzer, and even on my NC20 skin, I had to build to get a nice contour. 

There are two blusher shades, and it advises to use one on top of the other, I like this effect, a similar idea to the Charlotte Tilbury blushes, one shade to swirl over the cheek and another as a pop of colour. I think this makes the overall effect more natural and gives a multi dimensional depth. 

Finally the highlight powder, this is a strobing shade, and it’s along the lines of the Ambient Lighting Powders, but it’s a peachy nude tone, very pretty but not over intense. It does say it can be used wet for a more intense look, but seriously, who’s going to put a damp brush on such a gorgeous palette (and an expensive one at that!).


So in summary, if you are a fan of Hourglass you will love it, if you liked last years palette you will love it, do you need it? Well that would depend, it has a pretty hefty price tag £69, and it’s not something you’ll use everyday, I only use last years version if I’m doing decadent, going out makeup. Powder products do keep much longer than liquids, as long as you look after them and don’t get them damp. It would make a great Christmas present for any makeup junkie out there, as it falls neatly into the category of ‘something you wouldn’t buy yourself, for yourself’.

I give ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ it would have been five but it is expensive, and I’m not sure the shades will suit everyone.

I got my palette from John Lewis, it is limited edition so if you are thinking of investing in it, I wouldn’t leave it too long!!


Thanks for reading.x

Leave a Reply

